Kalkara is a small town consisting of two inlets that sprout out in the Grand Harbour of Malta. These are respectively known as Rinella Bay and Kalkara Creek. It also comprises two peninsulas, known as Bighi and as Ricasoli. Kalkara forms part of the inner harbour area and although not geographically part of Cottonera, as the three cities of Vittoriosa, Cospicua and Senglea are known, it is unofficially included in this grouping due to its close proximity. The name comes from the Latin word for lime as there was a lime kiln present there since Roman times.

[gravityform id="28" title="true" description="true" ajax="true"]